Skip Navigation and Sidebar Items and go to Main Page Content

ArkansasHealthCareers.com

Connecting Students in Arkansas with Rewarding Careers in Healthcare

What the Heck’s an AHEC?

Simply put, an AHEC is an Area Health Education Center. There are AHECs all over the country. According to their facebook page, their purpose is, “Connecting Students to Careers – Professionals to Communities – and Communities to Better Health.” This website is an outreach project of the Arkansas AHECs.

In Arkansas, the AHECs exist specifically to decentralize the educational and clinical resources of the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock. Check out the video below for more great info.

The player will show in this paragraph

For your convenience, contact information for each AHEC is listed below. The main page for Arkansas’s AHECs can be found at the AHEC Site on UAMS.edu.

AHEC Fort Smith

612 South 12th Street

Fort Smith, AR 72901

Contact: Christina Dickens

Phone: 479-242-3608

E-mail: cadickens@uams.edu

AHEC Northwest in Fayetteville

2907 East Joyce Street

Fayetteville, AR 72703

Contact: Ana Sanchez

Phone: 479-521-8269

E-mail: asanchez@uams.edu

AHEC North Central in Batesville

1215 Sydney Street, Suite 201

Batesville, AR 72501

Contact: Sai Kode

Phone: 870-425-1018, ext. 222

E-mail: smkode@uams.edu

AHEC Northeast in Jonesboro

223 East Jackson Street

Jonesboro, AR 72401

Contact: Yalanda Young

Phone: 870-972-0063, ext. 209

E-mail: yyoung@ahecne.uams.edu

Delta AHEC in Helena-West Helena

1393 Highway 242 South

Helena-West Helena, AR 72342

Contact: Janet Ligon

Phone: 870-572-2727 ext. 138

E-mail: jbligon@uams.edu

AHEC Pine Bluff

4010 Mulberry Street

Pine Bluff, AR 71603

Contact: LaSonya Shelby

Phone: 870-692-1020

E-mail: lshelby@ahecpb.uams.edu

AHEC South Arkansas in El Dorado

460 West Oak Street

El Dorado, AR 71731

Contact: Debbie McAdams

Phone: 870-881-4429

E-mail: dmcadams@ahecsa.uams.edu

AHEC Southwest in Texarkana

300 East 6th Street

Texarkana, AR 71854

Contact: Bradi Kelley

Phone: 870-779-6102

E-mail: kelleybradic@uams.edu

You can find many ways to better yourself and your community at your Area Health Education Center!